1935 Wetaskiwin, Alberta Champions *     

1935 Wetaskiwin Braves

Back row (left to right) - Earl Lindskog, Vern Larsen, Darcy McKinley, Wayne Spencer, Les Webber, Jimmy Rattlesnake, Ed Kronfield, John McKay, Ray Anderson, and Eddie Bergen.

Front row - Eli Aboussafy, C.B. McMurdo, Pete McCready, Ike Davis, Curt Smith, and J. Richards.

* Wetaskiwin claimed the Alberta Senior Championship after holding a 3-1 game lead in the best-of-seven final series with Ponoka. However, the Alberta Baseball Association upheld a Ponoka protest and awarded the title to the Panthers who then declined to accept the title. Ponoka wanted games to be replayed, but Wetaskiwin refused and the team disbanded. The protest was over Wetaskiwin's use of an ineligible player.

[A Carl Walin Photo from the City of Wetaskiwin Archives]