1948 Douglas Tire, Softball Champs     

1948 Douglas Tire

Douglas Tire, Vancouver Island Men's Senior "A" softball championship team, 1948. Back row: Leon Hall, Chick Newman, Al Ellis, Stan Tenning, Ray Byers, Charlie McKay and Vic Dale.

Front row: Team Manager Jim Lackie, Verne Evans, Don Robinson, Bill Mair, Toad Garnet, Henry Harris, Ken Gunter, Gar Taylor, Sponsor Fred Barnett and in front, mascot Wally Benson. Morley Armstrong was the President of this league and presented veteran Ray Byers with a League MVP Award.

[Photo courtesy of Chad Evans]